Staked chair prototype – part 1

Out contractor did not finish their work on time and as a result my dining table top is still behind stacks of boxes.  This meant that instead of working on the dining table I decided to start on my first staked furniture project which will either be the back stool or one of the chairs from the Anarcist’s Design Book.

I had already cut two sections of red oak to act as the legs so I attempted to split one of them ito thirds, unfortunately this failed completely with the split crossing multiple gain lines resulting in a heavily tapered piece.  After this dramatic failure I decided to pull out my baby band saw and install the half inch wood slicer blade I had previously purchased from Highland Woodworking. The blade made short work of cutting out the  1 7/8th blanks and then slicing the waste into 7/8th blanks for the back rails (seriously that blade is awsome).


Thanks to my splitting fiasco I ended up with one fewer leg blank than I had intended.  Also, the grain for on leg needed the cut to correct it so I also ended up with 2 fewer back rails than anticipated.  Hopefully I can get one or two of these squared up a night so that next weekend I can pull out the planer this weekend.

While I had the band saw out I also rip cut some of the euclyptus.  I pulled on the seat blanks out of my “kiln” and weighed it (down to 17 lbs) and took its surface moisture content (8%).  This particular board had some twisty grain that resulted in the board ripping itself apart on one side.  I ripped off the damage and immediately noticed the center of the board was wet (28% according to my meter).  This stuff is thick so I was not supprised it was still wet, but I was supprised just how wet it was.

Unfortunately, I had similar results with the thinner back support piece.  One board had a small not that resulted in dearly half the board ripping itself apart (seriously Tasmanian Blue Gun has a lot of internal tension) so I ripped that side off and straighten the grain direction in the process.  Sure enough, the center was wet but only in the mid 20’s.  I had left these out of the kiln but now it apears that may have been a mistake so the back rest for the prototype went into the kiln.  It’s only set for 100 degrees so hopefully this won’t result in problems for the steam bending.

Leave a Reply

