Harvey Ellis Saw Till – Part 9 – Resawing

With the lumber rack finally complete I was able to focus on the saw till again. The two ready back panels were cut down to size and then received a rabbit (rebate) around the edges using my Stanley 45 and Veritas medium shoulder plane. A quick test fit showed that things went together well though I may need to trim the vertical dividers a bit.

IMG_0671 IMG_0675

Next it was time to resaw another piece of the Douglas fir to make the remaining back panels. I marked out where I wanted the saw kerf to go and started the end grain cuts with the board vertical before moving to the saw horse to cut the side kerfs. You will notice I am using a the same modern disposable saw that I used for the strand board; my rip saw was very dull when I purchased it and I have never sharped a saw before so I figured I would try with the Husky. I have never resawn by hand before but I think this may have been a mistake as the cutting was very slow and it kept jumping the kerf I had made (hard to tell if this is just a lack of skill or the set of the saw). After an hour my hands were sick of the handle and my body was worn out; I had made it through less than 20% of the board.

IMG_0673 IMG_0674

My next post will likely be related to sharpening a rip saw.

2 thoughts on “Harvey Ellis Saw Till – Part 9 – Resawing

    • I’ve never done it, it intimidates me for some reason. I’ve had a nice (but dull) Disston D-8 rip saw for nearly 18 months but the plan is to tackle it tomorrow night. I made my Moxon vise extra long just for this purpose.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

