Roubo Workbench – Legs p 1

While I wait for the dimensional 1X12 pine to adjust to my shop (I have been unable to find a source for rough 4/4 pine or fir near San Francisco) I am finally working on the legs for my workbench. I have previously dimensioned these legs at the TechShop but they moved a bit in the new shop.

I marked out the tenons on one of the legs, clamped it to my workbench top, and started cutting with my hybrid cut tenon saw.

Sawing the sides.
Sawing the sides.
My saw plate it a bit shorter than the tenon so I finished with a Japanese pull saw
My saw plate it a bit shorter than the tenon so I finished with a Japanese pull saw

Next I placed the leg on my saw bench and bashed out the central waste with my ½ mortise chisel (and woke my wife up from a nap in the process).

IMG_0447

Then I sliced of the dovetail cheeks; it’s not great but after some cleanup with my chisels and a router plane it should work. Three more to go; hopefully the last one will be in decent shape.

Still needs some cleanup
Still needs some cleanup
Leave a Reply

