Musings on the current state of consumer furniture

I have been traveling for work this week so I have been unable to make any progress on my projects. Last weekend I assembled a piece of cheap furniture from Target; you know the kind, plastic wood grain over particle board (the irony being this shelf now holds my woodworking books and magazines).

As I was taking the parts out of the box I though the surface had been damaged, there were off colored parallel lines running along many of the parts. A close look showed no surface damage, that’s when I realized they were simulated milling marks. They had purposely made the surface of this furniture look like it has machine marks left on the surface.

This is what American consumer furniture has come to: Cheap fake furniture purposely made to look like badly finished wood furniture.

Leave a Reply

